Denna sida på svenska This page in English

May 2011

Dynamics, Control and Pricing in Power Systems

Focus Period on Dynamics, Control and Pricing in Power Systems

May 2 - May 27, 2011

Our power network is under rapid transformation due to economic incentives and integration of renewable resources. Technoloy for control and communication is at the heart of this development, but there is also a strong coupling to economics and market forces. The objective of this focus period is to create an environment where leading researchers in power systems, control engineering and economics can meet and work under optimal circumstances. The format is the same as for the Theme Semester 2010, but for a shorter period. Our aim is to create an environment for cross-fertilization and new ideas.

At any particular time, there will be room for up to 10 invited researchers. A typical visit will be 2-5 weeks. In addition to the invited researchers, several postdoc- and PhD student positions are tied to the program. In the middle of the focus period, there will be a workshop May 18-20 with 23 invited speakers.

The workshop will be held at the Old Bishop's Palace at Biskopsgatan 1 in Lund (map). On Tuesday May 17 at 5-7pm there is a welcoming reception at the Pufendorf Institute at Biskopsgatan 3 in Lund (map).

The following speakers have confirmed their participation:

Göran Andersson, ETH Zürich
Aranya Chakrabortty, North Carolina State University
Joe H. Chow, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Antonio Conejo, Universidad de Castilla - La Mancha
Ian A Hiskens, University of Michigan
Gabriela Hug, Carnegie Mellon University
Karl H Johansson, KTH Stockholm
Marija D. Ilic, Carnegie Mellon University
Kurt Jörnsten, Norges Handelshøyskole
Javad Lavaei, Caltech
Stephen Low, Caltech
Yuri Makarov, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Sean Meyn, Univ of Illinois
Fernando Paganini, Universidad ORT Uruguay
Antonis Papachristodoulou, Oxford University
Kameshwar Poolla, UC Berkeley
Jacob Østergaard, Technical University of Denmark
Anders Rantzer, Lund University
Olof Samuelsson, Lund University
Henrik Sandberg, KTH Stockholm
Jacquelien Scherpen, University of Groningen
Lennart Söder, KTH Stockholm
Pravin Varaiya, UC Berkeley